The Best Homemade Peanut Sauce

The Best Homemade Peanut Sauce

peanut sauce, asian peanut sauce,  peanut free, tahini peanut sauce, foodie

I love Asian fusion, I love all the flavours, the depth and spice. One thing that you need for a good fresh roll, or a good noodle bowl is a delicious peanut sauce! I have tried recipe after recipe of peanut sauce and this one is exactly what I want. Since finding it I’ve tried a few other peanut sauces and nothing compares to this and nothing in the store (that I was able to find) compares either. Some of you may also be interested to know – it’s peanut free and incredibly easy!

Now to tell you the truth I have done a few modifications for this recipe. I prefer having options if I run out of something I can use an alternative. I’ll let you know both, so that if you don’t want to buy something you can just use what you have; but I’ll include my favourites in the actual recipe below.

The original recipe says you can swap out the sriracha for another hot sauce, but I would never!  You can also use peanut butter, sunflower seed butter, or almond butter instead of the tahini; but I have tahini in stock (for hummus) and love the subtle smooth texture that it gives the sauce. I have also swapped the lime for real lemon in a pinch, it is ok but the lime is amazing. You can also use grapeseed oil instead of olive, but I have olive in stock so – there ya go. The original also has an option for adding coconut oil, I haven’t tried this, I’m sure it’s delicious but I love the flavour as is.

peanut sauce, asian peanut sauce,  peanut free, tahini peanut sauce, foodie

Original recipe from: The First Mess

Serves: ¾ cup of finished sauce       Prep: 10 min    Cook: 0 minutes

  • ¾ inch fresh ginger, peeled & grated
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 ½ tsp sriracha (more if you want it spicier)
  • 2 ½ tbsp tahini
  • 1 lime, peeled and chopped
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 ½ tbsp low sodium soy sauce
  • splash sesame oil
  • ½ cup light tasting olive oil
  • chopped peanuts (optional)
  1. Combine ingredients in order. If the ginger and garlic are minced well you can just whisk it all together. If they aren’t chopped finely you can food process, or blend them until smooth.
  2. Top with the optional chopped peanuts.
  3. Refrigerate any unused sauce for consumption later. Refrigerating the oil will solidify the sauce, before your next meal pull it out and let it get to room temperature.

Hope you like it! Joy

2 thoughts on “The Best Homemade Peanut Sauce

    1. Yum! We ate this so fast I didn’t take pictures of the fresh rolls or the spaghetti squash bowl. I love it and if I could I would eat it all the time. Hope your version turns out delish!!

      Liked by 1 person

Tell Me What You Think