Pumpkin Spice Muffin Fail

Muffin, oatmeal, flax, flat, no rise,  baking modificationsSo, my muffin fail isn’t a complete fail. They are REALLY delicious, full of fiber, super moist, and they have an awesome spice pallet. I did do some modifications, and they did not rise. They are completely flat. You can find the original recipe on All Recipes here. I did do some pretty drastic modifications, because I  got lazy and the internet was not pulling up exactly what I wanted. I wanted pumpkin, I wanted oatmeal, I wanted flax, and I wanted coffee. I know – picky picky picky!

So I used this recipe, and decreased the flour, and added oatmeal and flax. Original recipe was 1 ¾ cup flour and I made mine with 1 cup flour, ¾ cup oatmeal and ¼ cup flax and increased my pumpkin by 1 oz (because I was using homemade not canned so it was easier to measure that way). It was still really liquid-y so I just left it at that.

I did expect that they would need a little help rising so I added a slight heap to my baking soda and powder. However, I am not a chemist so I’m not sure if I didn’t add enough or if I added too much.

Also All Recipes says that they’ll bake in 20-25 minutes. mine were very under done at 25 minutes. So that makes me wonder too, I definitely threw something off!

I would make these again – but they need some serious help before I’d ever serve them to people. Anyone actually a chemist? Anyone know what could fix this? OR does anyone know of a pumpkin spice muffin recipe that meets all my needs?!

Here is what I did:

Original recipe from: All Recipes 

Servings: 18 Muffins       Prep: 15 min    Cook: 30-40 minutes

  • 1 cup whole wheat all-purpose flour
  • ¾ cup oatmeal
  • ¼ cup roasted ground flax
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda, slightly heaping
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon ground cloves
  • ½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • ¼ teaspoon baking powder, slightly heaping
  • ½ cup olive oil
  • 2 cups pumpkin puree (15 oz can)
  • 2 eggs
  • ¹/3 cup strong coffee – warm
  • chocolate chips (optional, I never add them)
  1. Heat oven to 325 ºF.
  2. Grease a muffin tin with either cooking spray or shortening.
  3. Combine dry ingredients.
  4. Add wet ingredients. Fold in the optional chocolate chips.
  5. Fill each muffin cup to the edge. Bake about 30-40 minutes until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

– Help, Joy!

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Muffin Fail

Tell Me What You Think

