DIY Bed & Upholstered Headboard

DIY Bed & Upholstered Headboard

bed, headboard, upolstery, linen, DIY

Photo credit to Katie Marie at KMB Photography.

I have always loved the look of an upholstered headboard, to me it looks and feels like an adult bed. This was a big project, the only furniture I built this summer. This post will link to to several others as it was quite a process and really breaks down into several steps. That way you can see take the whole process of each separate element of the bed.

It took me a little while to figure out how to do this without posting a never ending post. I’ve broken it down into several bite size elements in order to keep it digestible.

Step 1: DIY Solid Wood Footboard

Step 2: DIY Headboard Frame

Step 3: DIY Upholstered Headboard

For the headboard I looked at a tutorial I found on Pinterest by Homemade by Carmona. I did really do my own thing, so if you are going to tackle this DIY read both posts! I’ll tell you why I changed it up too.

Then we had to assemble the whole thing (which had a few additional elements to it).

DIY Bed with Upolstered Headboard | leave it to Joy

Line it all up.

DIY Bed with Upolstered Headboard | leave it to Joy

DIY Bed with Upolstered Headboard | leave it to Joy

Insert 2 2×4 support beams into holes in the headboard. You can’t see it in this picture but I also put a 2×2 on the inside of each edge board to hold up the plywood in the next step.DIY Bed with Upolstered Headboard | leave it to Joy

Cover with plywood. MDF would not be a good option at this point (because it cannot support it’s own weight). DIY Bed with Upolstered Headboard | leave it to Joy

Screw the edge boards into the headboard. I also have a little white piece that cover these which is strictly cosmetic.
DIY Bed with Upolstered Headboard | leave it to JoyThere you have it, all the details on my DIY Bed with Upolstered Headboard. This bed cost about $400 CAD for the whole thing, which is truly amazing when you realize its real wood, and a headboard from Homesense would cost about that. For just the headboard. Check out the details and let me know what you think.

-Joy

Tell Me What You Think