DIY Christmas Card Display

DIY Christmas Card Display | leave it to Joy

It’s getting close to Christmas, and I love displaying all the cards I get from my family and friends; but I hate the clutter. A few years ago I found a really great idea on Martha Stewart’s website but I didn’t have a good spot for it to go. Now I do. Check out Martha’s idea here.

I originally wanted to make a big burlap bow for the topper, but it looked terrible. Unless you have super crafty vision it doesn’t even look like a bow. 😦

DIYers what can I use this bow for? its all cut and glued into place so I can easily get it back in its original state. My frugal spirit doesn’t want to admit defeat and throw it out. Any suggestions would be definitely be considered (I’ll even give you credit on the post).

DIY Christmas Card Display | leave it to Joy

Anyway, the ribbon I did use is very translucent and from dollarama, it cost me 2$ (I bought two rolls). I sewed two identical pieces together at the start / stop of each card. Each arrow below is approximately where I sewed a line. It took me about 30 minutes.

DIY Christmas Card Display | leave it to Joy

I finished it off with bows like Martha did – how does she always get it right? (I like to think it took her more than one try too! I’m still sad about my wasted burlap bow 😦 ) I hung them up with 3M hooks so I can easily remove them at the end of the season. I think next year I might add some colour.

DIY Christmas Card Display | leave it to Joy

Merry Christmas! – Joy

DIY Christmas Card Display | leave it to Joy

 

Tell Me What You Think

