Easy Delicious Home-made Bread

Best Home-made Bread | leave it to Joy

About a month ago I stopped buying bread and transitioned to home-made. The first time I made bread was because my grocer was doing renovations and didn’t have the in-store baked bread available; and all those breads that are shipped in have weird ingredients that I can’t pronounce. Now I make the time so that we are eating real ingredients. I’ve morphed 2 recipes: my friend’s Grandma’s & Betty Crocker’s Classic White Bread. There are only 2 of us so I only make 1 loaf and it lasts us about a week or so.  I do own a bread maker – but I don’t like the bread that comes out of that, its so dense! I assumed that it would be complicated to make bread by hand. If my machine couldn’t get it right, how could I? But this bread is easy and amazing! If I can do it, you can too!

Best Home-made Bread | leave it to Joy

Home-made Bread

1 ¼ cup hot water
2 ¼ teaspoon bread yeast
1½ tablespoon sugar
1 ½ teaspoon salt
2 tbsp  shortening
2 ½ to 3 cups flour approximately 50% white & 50% whole wheat

  1. Combine 1 cup flour, sugar, salt, oil and yeast – mix well. Add hot water beat with electric mixer 1ish minutes. Stir in enough remaining flour until dough is easy to handle (too much will make a dense loaf).
  2. Knead about 10 minutes until dough is smooth, light and springy. Add some additional flour if its too sticky.
  3. Grease sides of a bowl. Place the dough in the bowl, cover lightly with plastic wrap and let rise for 45- 60 minutes in a warm spot. I turn the light on on my stove and let it sit there.
  4. Punch the dough to deflate.
  5. Lightly roll out on a clean floured surface. Roll like a cinnamon bun. Place in a greased bread pan seam on the bottom.
  6. Let rise 30-45 minutes or until the size of a full loaf.
  7. Bake at 425. For 25 – 40 minutes or until very brown and sound hollow when tapped.

Best Home-made Bread | leave it to Joy

7 thoughts on “Easy Delicious Home-made Bread

  1. Pingback: 11 Frugal Things I Do Without Thinking | leave it to Joy

  2. I quit buying bread about a year & a half ago. Those crazy ingredients in commercial bread freak me out! I take the easy way out and use my bread machine though. It can be quite dense unless I use a specific bread flour and fresh yeast. But, I’ve branched out lately and I’ve just been making rolls & breadsticks with good old all-purpose flour;) Thanks for this recipe, I keep telling myself to make a hand-kneaded loaf!

    Like

Tell Me What You Think

