DIY Farmhouse Coffee Table for $60 CAD

 

DIY Farmhouse Coffee Table for $60 CAD | leave it to Joy

We had an IKEA coffee table for years, and although we were “nice” to it. It definitely showed its age. When we decided we wanted something sturdier and started shopping we realized the price of sturdy was actually quite surprising. Do people really pay $600 for coffee tables? I really didn’t want to have something that I was concerned about when people come over. I want to be able to shrug off water circles, wine spills, children banging on it… etc etc and some people may be able to shrug off a $600 coffee table, but not me.

The solution? I made one! …and I actually think its more resistant to staining and wear than anything store bought. This DIY was inspired by the same Farmhouse Dining Table done by Shanty-2-Chic that inspired my Console Table. I now have a little theme going on!

We built the top similarly to the top of my Console Table except with 2×6 pine pieces instead of 2x2s. This was WAY harder to get straight and level. This project was a lot quicker though, now that I had an understanding of what I needed to do for the pedestals, beams and all.

DIY Farmhouse Coffee Table for $60 CAD | leave it to Joy

I did the same stain and finishing as the Console Table, and you may notice that the colour is a lot lighter. It is indeed the same MinWax stain in Jocoabean which I let sit for 15 minutes before wiping off the excess. Turns out I accidentally bought Spruce, and the Console Table was built with Pine. I finished it with the same polyurethane protector, which I would highly recommend.

DIY Farmhouse Coffee Table for $60 CAD | leave it to Joy

DIY Farmhouse Coffee Table for $60 CAD | leave it to Joy

Hope you like my project, I think it turned out quite nicely. – Joy

11 thoughts on “DIY Farmhouse Coffee Table for $60 CAD

    • I did, I found that the factory corners were a little curved (probably just from bumping into each other during processing). I planed each board to give them a sharp edge so the surface was smooth.

      Like

  1. Pingback: DIY Solid Wood Footboard | leave it to Joy

  2. Pingback: DIY Farmhouse Bench Tutorial 55$ CAD | leave it to Joy

  3. Pingback: DIY Farmhouse Dining Room Table for $200 CAD | leave it to Joy

  4. Pingback: DIY End Table Out of Scraps $0 CAD | leave it to Joy

  5. Pingback: DIY Tutorial: Using a Kreg Jig | leave it to Joy

Tell Me What You Think

